top of page

A Night of Triumphs at Penticton Speedway's Annual Awards Gala

Penticton Speedway, the local hub for adrenaline junkies and racing aficionados, hosted a night to remember as it hosted its much-anticipated awards banquet on Nov 10th, 2023. The group of drivers, family, pit crew, volunteers, and staff came together at the Penticton Gold and Couty Club to recognize the leaders on and off the track.

Rick Digby, crowned Hit to Pass Champion (this is his 8th championship), demonstrated exceptional prowess on the track. His showmanship, driving skill, and determination left an indelible impression on the fans. As the crowd erupted in cheers, Digby graciously acknowledged the support of his wife and the unwavering backing of his many sponsors including Dead or Alive Auto, Trail Tire, Fast Eddie's Speed Shop, and Action Paving.

In the Hornet Class, Mike Marshall, for the first time, emerged victorious, navigating challenges throughout the season( like a blown engine). Marshall stood tall, a testament to the competitive spirit that defines Penticton’s racing community thanking his teammates for their support, and his sponsors especially Box Mechanical, Monument Motorsports, and Penticton Speedway.

RPR Heating and Air Conditioning, a steadfast supporter of local motorsports, took center stage as sponsors of the Street Stock Class and crowned Cory McGiverin the 2023 Champion. proving his mettle, clinched the championship in this fiercely contested category. Cory was quick to thank his team of dedicated pit crew, family, and also his sponsors Crazy Pine Holden, Crazy Pine Welding, Autumn Rain Hair design, Primal Electric, Wish Kwok and Associates, Wise Guys car wash, Star West PetroleumLTD, Emry Formworks, Monument Motorsports, Kieson Fabrication and Machine.

Tracey Anderson, a rising star in the Hornet Class, walked away with the Rookie of the Year Award. Behind her

unassuming exterior lies a fierce competitor, a driver who not only conquered the challenges on the track but also exemplified sportsmanship and kindness off it. Tracey worked hard for her sponsors, the Penticton Speedway, Ednas Non-Alcholic Cocktails, and Theos Greek Restaurant.

Acknowledging not just speed but the spirit of true sportsmanship, in an award voted on by his peers, Late Model driver Jeff Cameron claimed the Sportsman of the Year title. Known for his friendly demeanor, Jeff's respect on and off the track makes him the kind of guy you want beside you.

Cory McGiverin, already a champion in the RPR Street Stock Class, solidified his standing as he was crowned Driver of the Year. He was visibly moved by the acknowledgment from the fans and his fellow drivers.

Amidst the applause for drivers, one unsung hero took the spotlight – Reagan Babyak, the recipient of the inaugural Team Member of the Year Award. Babyak's behind-the-scenes efforts in managing the high-pressure role of scoring and timing did not go unnoticed. A team member with a heart for racing, Babyak seamlessly ensured that every race ran like clockwork.

As the evening drew to a close, the owners – Trevor Seibert, Bryan Wevers, Ingo Seibert, and Lee Howarth, wanted to thank everyone for their dedication and tireless efforts reminding everyone that Penticton Speedway's success is a collaborative effort.

Without an awards ceremony in 2022, the winners of the class championships waiting until tonight to have their recognition for their accomplishments in 2022. The winners were Pieter Van den broek in the Hornet Class, Yianni Kyrtsos in the Street Stocks, Steve Lengert in Late Models and Adam Glousher in Hit to Pass.

The night at Penticton Speedway was not just about trophies and accolades; it was a celebration of passion, perseverance, and the unbreakable bond that makes this local motorsports community exceptional.


bottom of page